Do football players wear gloves?

While it is not required, many positions in football do wear gloves. Skill players like wide receivers wear gloves that have sticky palms to better catch a ball, and linemen may wear padded gloves that help protect their hands.

---

Linemen’s gloves are used to provide extra cushioning to protect their hands and wrists.Receiving gloves offer the receivers a sticky surface making it easier to catch the ball.