What is a fowl in basketball?

In basketball, a foul is an infraction of the rules more serious than a violation. Most fouls occur as a result of illegal personal contact with an opponent and or unsportsmanlike behavior. the penalties listed above are assessed only if a player or a team commits a number of fouls above a limit.