What kind of bears live in indiana?

Black bears (Ursus americanus) were historically abundant across Indiana, excluding the northwest portions of the state dominated by prairie. Unregulated hunting and habitat loss caused black bears to be removed from Indiana and much of the Midwest by 1850.