How many states are there in australia?

6. New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania.

---

There are six states in Australia. They are New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia. There are also two territories, the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory.

---

Australia has six states and ten territories.