How often do we have solar eclipses?

There are two to five solar eclipses each year, with a total eclipse taking place every 18 months or so. Whether you can view that eclipse depends on where you are in the world. As the Earth rotates, the Moon's shadow on Earth (and the view of the eclipse) travels from west to east.