When was the biggest tornado?

On May 31, 2013, near El Reno, Oklahoma, a tornado touched down that measured 2.6 miles wide.

---

The Tri-State Tornado of Wednesday, March 18, 1925 was the deadliest tornado in United States history. It was also the most exceptional tornado during a major outbreak of at least 12 known significant tornadoes,