How many hours of sleep should an average?

Medical researches in the 1930s suggests that 8 hours of sleep daily is required to stay healthy. However, modern research suggests this is untrue, and will vary based on the individual. 7 hours is a healthier target on average, but this depends on the level of physical exertion throughout the day.