What is the kingdom of hyrule?

The Kingdom of Hyrule is the setting for many of the "Legend of Zelda" games. In lore, it was founded and ruled over by the goddess Hylia, who took mortal form as Zelda in order to control one part of the Triforce, along with Link and Gannon. Hyrule changes with every reincarnation (game) of Zelda.