Is f. o. n. t. e. a word?

While "fonte," spelled F-O-N-T-E, is a word in several languages, strictly speaking English is not one of them. However, it is sometimes used as a loanword from French, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish, in the sense of meaning the origin of something after the fashion of the source of a spring.