What are the catacombs in france?

The Catacombs of Paris are underground ossuaries in Paris, France, which hold the remains of more than six million people in a small part of a tunnel network built to consolidate Paris' ancient stone mines. An ossuary is a container or room in which the bones of dead people are placed.