What is a fleur de lis?

A fleur de lis is a stylized liky emblem much used in ornamentation and, particularly, in heraldry, associated with the French crown. One legend identifies it as the lily given at his baptism to Clovis, king of the Franks (466–511), by the Virgin Mary.