What is jell-o electrophoresis?

Gel electrophoresis is a technique used to separate DNA fragments according to their size. DNA samples are loaded into wells at one end of a gel, and an electric current is applied to pull them through the gel. DNA fragments are negatively charged, so they move towards the positive electrode.