How did elon musk become rich?

Musk became a millionaire in 1999 at age 27 when he sold Zip2 for over $340 million. He formed X.com, which in 2000 morphed into PayPal and was acquired by eBay for $1.5 billion in stock. After that, Musk took his wealth from PayPal and invested approximately half in SpaceX and half in Tesla.