How does a cow digest?

Cattle are known as ruminant animals. Ruminants are mammals able to acquire nutrients from plant-based food by fermenting it in a special stomach called the rumen, prior to digestion, principally through microbial actions. They have four compartments to the stomach, the rumen being the largest.