When was dog man invented?

Dog Man is a comedic graphic novel series created by American author and cartoonist Dav Pilkey and published by Scholastic Corporation. Dog Man is the first book in the series, released on August 30, 2016. The book is about how Petey, the "World's Most Evilest Cat", accidentally creates Dog Man.