How do you clean snow peas?

Snow peas have a stem that attached to the plant. This stem has a fibrous string hat runs along the length of the pea pod. The stem should be broken from the body of the pod, and the "string" should be pulled off the pod and removed. If you don't remove the string, it will get caught in your teeth.