What fancy food used to be served mainly to prisoners?

Although now considered a fine delicacy, lobster was once considered a "poor man's meal", due to its overabundance. In addition to being fed to prisoners, slaves, and apprentices, lobster was also used as fertilizer and fish bait until well into the 20th century.