How long can a baby live without a brain?

Babies born with a complete absence of a brain are usually stillborn or die shortly after. 25% of children without a brain (anencephaly), who reach term of pregnancy, die during childbirth. 50% have an average lifespan of a few minutes to a day, 25% live up to 10 days.