Is the universe a star?

No. The universe contains all solar systems, and galaxies which in turn contain stars.

---

The universe is not a star, however it does contain many stars within it. This would be analogous to calling a person a skin cell. Human bodies are not skin cells, however, they have many as part of them. Stars are the building blocks of galaxies, of which there are billions in the universe.