Why is it hard to remove salt from water?

Salt is difficult to remove from water because it is a dissolved solid, which is dispersed throughout the water and does not settle to the bottom. When a solid is dissolved in a liquid, it becomes much harder to separate, because the individual particles are too small for most types of filtration.