What is the origin of horseradish?

In German, it's called “meerrettich” (sea radish) because it grows by the sea. Many believe the English mispronounced the German word “meer” and began calling it “mareradish.” andit became known as horseradish. The word “horse” (in “horseradish”) is believed to denote large size and coarseness.