What is a barbie girl?

Barbie Girl" is a song by Danish-Norwegian dance-pop group Aqua. It was released in April 1997 as the third single from the group's debut studio album, Aquarium (1997). It was written after Rasted saw an exhibit on kitsch culture in Denmark that featured Barbie dolls