How do you cook a cactus?

Cut off the edge. Remove the spines. Slice into strips. Put into a pot with 4 quarts of boiling water. Add onion, garlic, salt, and boil uncovered for 8-10 minutes. When finished, drain the water and add the cactus to a dish such as; salads, scrambled eggs, and Mexican stew.