When did dennis weaver leave gunsmoke?

Dennis Weaver first became familiar to television audiences as Matt Dillon's deputy Chester Goode in Gunsmoke from 1955 to 1964. After playing the part for nine years, he moved on to star in his own series, Kentucky Jones.