How long does it take to swim across the pacific ocean?

Ben Lecomte, 51, set off on the journey Tuesday from Choshi, Japan, in his attempt to become the first person to swim across the Pacific Ocean, a trip that could take six to eight months. Lecomte, is expected to swim eight hours and an average of 30 miles, a journey that spans about 5,000 miles.