How cold is an ice age?

Based on their models, researchers found that the global average temperature from 19,000 to 23,000 years ago, in the last ice age, was about 46 degrees Fahrenheit. That's about 11 degrees colder than the global average temperature of the 20th century, per a University of Michigan statement.