How many cups equals a pound?

While a cup is 8oz and a pound is 16oz, it depends on what is being weighed. For example, a pound of all-purpose flour is almost 4 cups, chopped walnuts is 3.5 cups, chocolate chips is 2.7 cups, white sugar is 2.6 cups, butter is 2 cups, and dark brown sugar packed is 1.9 cups.

---

While a pound is 16oz and a cup is 8oz, the substance being weighed makes a difference. For instance, a pound of butter is 2 cups, and cheese is 1 cup. A pound of uncooked rice is 2.2 cups, white sugar is 2.6 cups, all-purpose flour is almost 4 cups, and dry pasta is just over 4 and a half cups.