When did america get involved in the vietnam war?

U.S. Involvement in the Vietnam War: the Gulf of Tonkin and Escalation, 1964. In early August 1964, two U.S. destroyers stationed in the Gulf of Tonkin in Vietnam radioed that they had been fired upon by North Vietnamese forces.