Has a car ever broken the sound barrier?

The current holder of the Outright World Land Speed Record is ThrustSSC, a twin turbofan jet-powered car which achieved 763.035 miles per hour or 1,227.985 kilometers per hour in October 1997. It broke the sound barrier at Mach 1.016