Was james potter a gryffindor?

Yes, James Potter, Harry's father, was, with Remus Lupin, Peter Pettigrew, and Sirius Black, sorted into Gryffindor, becoming known as the Marauders while at Hogwarts. James Sirius Potter, Harry's eldest son and named for his grandfather and Harry's godfather, was also later sorted into Gryffindor.