Is ketchup a barbecue sauce?

Ketchup, on its own, is usually not considered a barbecue sauce, however most barbecue sauce uses ketchup as a base with added vinegar, sweeteners, herbs, spices, and liquid smoke.

---

Ketchup itself is not a barbecue sauce, but it is found in ingredients of many barbecue sauces.