Why are radishes hot?

Radishes are edible root vegetables and are cousins of mustard and cabbage. They have a mild to hot peppery flavor and crunchy texture. Radishes owe their sharp flavor to the various chemical compounds produced by the plants, including glucosinolate, myrosinase, and isothiocyanate.