Why do we need to sneeze?

When something enters your nose, like germs, dust or pollen, a message is sent to a part of your brain called the sneeze centre. The sneeze centre sends signals to the parts of your body that need to work together to help you sneeze. You sneeze to expel the irritant from your nose.