Why is a cobb salad called a cobb salad?

The origins of the Cobb Salad come from the Brown Derby in Hollywood, CA in the 1937 and was named for the restaurant's owner Robert Howard Cobb after he threw a bunch of leftover ingredients together late at night. He tossed the salad in French dressing and the Cobb salad was born.