Who sings purple rain in the dark?

Prince provided one of the most memorable Super Bowl halftime moments when he performed this song in the rain at the 2007 game. After blasting through bits of several songs, he slowed things down for rendition of "Purple Rain." The stadium turned dark, and purple lights glistened through raindrops.