Tell me about a cottonmouth snake?

Cottonmouths are venomous semi-aquatic snakes often referred to as “water moccasins.” They have large, triangular heads with a dark line through the eye, elliptical pupils, and large jowls due to the venom glands. They are large – typically 24 - 48 in keeled-scaled, heavy-bodied snakes.

---

It is a large aquatic snake, also called a water moccasin, native to the southeastern USA. The bite is venomous and may be fatal.