Who created the a. b. c. song?

The tune most commonly used in America to help children learn the Roman alphabet comes from an old French folk song. The English title of the song is "Oh Shall I Tell You Mommy". This tune is also used for "Baa Baa Black Sheep" and "Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star". Mozart did not write it.