How do you catch a pokemon in pokemon go?

Tap and hold your Poké Ball. A target ring will appear around the Pokémon. The ring's color indicates the difficulty level of capturing the Pokémon. A green ring indicates the capture is low difficulty, orange indicates intermediate difficulty, and red indicates extreme difficulty.