What is the most abundant fish?

The bristlemouths, or lightfishes, are considered the most numerous fish on the planet, exceeding even the famously plentiful herring in numbers, and are also the most numerous vertebrate, period. They comprise the family Gonostomatidae, which contains over 30 species.