Was marilyn monroe the artichoke queen?

Norma Jeane Mortenson, better known as Marilyn Monroe, was named California's first honorary Artichoke Queen in 1948. Since then, the annual festival has continued to grow, appealing to visitors from Castroville, Salinas, Monterey, San Francisco and other cities in California and beyond.