How old were the golden girls when the show started?

Betty White and Bea Arthur were both 63 years old when the series began. White was born Jan. 17, 1922. Arthur was born May 13, 1922, making her a year older than Getty, her on-screen mother. Much like her character, Rue McClanahan was the youngest, being 51 years old when