How did the minnesota vikings start?

Minneapolis had a professional football team in the 1920s, but a new professional team started in 1959 by three Minneapolis businessmen. They named the team the Minnesota Vikings to embrace the Scandinavian American culture there. They passed on the AFL to join the NFL with play to start in 1961.