How long does it take for an asteroid to hit earth?

According to sciencenorway.co, an estimated 10-50 meteorites hit the Earth's surface every day. Most of these land in the ocean, making their origin difficult or impossible to determine. Some of them may come from the asteroid belt, a ring of rocky bodies orbiting the sun between Mars and Jupiter.