What's the coldest thing ever?

0 degrees Kelvin (-460 Fahrenheit) is absolute zero, the temperature at which there is no heat energy and atoms are not moving at all. The temperature of deep space is 2.7 Kelvin (-455 Fahrenheit). This is the temperature of microwave background radiation, which permeates through the universe.

---

Researchers set the current record with 100 picokelvins inside a piece of rhodium metal in 1999. The coldest cubic meter was 6 millikelvins in a lab in 2014. The coldest naturally-occurring known thing is the Boomerang Nebula at 1 kelvin.