How can you tell when a peach is ripe?

A ripe peach is a dark yellow in color. A red peach indicates overexposure to sunlight and does not mean that it is ripe. If the peach is green or you find green undertones on a yellow peach, it is unripe and needs more time to ripen before harvesting.