What is cicadas eat?

Cicadas have modified mouthparts to feed on liquids rather than solid material. Larvae suck juices from plant roots, while adults suck fluids from woody shrubs and trees. Periodical cicadas are best known for their extraordinary, highly synchronized life cycles.