Is vegetable oil and olive oil the same?

No. Olive oil is mostly used for foods with heavy flavors; vegetable oil is meant for those with delicate ones. Olive oil is preferred for medium temperature cooking; vegetable is used for higher temperature. Olive oil is rich in anti-oxidants and vegetable oil is filled with omega six fatty acid.