What does click bait mean?

In internet terms, clickbait means: content whose main purpose is to attract attention and encourage visitors to click on a link to a particular web page.

---

Click bait refers to on line ads or posts with pictures or headlines intended to entice viewers to click a link. Often the headline or picture is irrelevant or misleading.