How many rocks in the world?

There are three main types of rock. They are sedimentary, metamorphic, and igneous. Sedimentary rock is compressed sediment. Metamorphic rock is sedimentary rock that has been exposed to heat and pressure deep in the Earth. Igneous rock is hardened lava.