How do you get rid of a sauce stain?

The method depends on the content of the sauce. Wine-based sauces can sometimes be removed by simply soaking in water. Oil- and fat-containing sauces should be subjected to gentle dish soap in water. Some sauce stains will require soaking in dilute bleach.